ajml

The Hamburger

In Food and Recipes on November 23, 2011 at 19:44

A hamburger  is a sandwich consisting of a cooked patty of ground meat (usually beef but occasionally pork or combined meats) usually placed inside a sliced bread roll often served with lettuce, bacon (mmm bacon), tomato, onion, pickles, cheese and condiments such as mustard, mayonnaise, ketchup and relish. Doesn’t just describing it  makes your mouth watery? I know mine does. I love hamburgers. I can’t picture my life without hamburgers. (Well, I can picture myself a lot healthier which is obviously good but who gives a damn?) 

Okay, what really got me talking about hamburgers is not my eternal love for such a glorious cuisine but this girl in one of my classes. We had lunch together with our other classmates just last week and I happen to got myself a cheeseburger. That was some good cheeseburger. We’re good, no drama or anything, it’s just she doesn’t like hamburgers. She doesn’t eat hamburgers. Doesn’t. Eat. Hamburgers. I couldn’t believe I would ever meet someone who refuses something heavenly as a hamburger.  Ham-fucking-burger–  just one of the most awesome food inventions made by mankind! The one who invented it, in fact (and I will look him or her up) is an absolute genius! Refusing to believe, I asked her, “Is it because of religion?” She said, “No” “Oh, you must be one of those health freaks, aren’t you?” And she said, “No”  In my head I was like, then what the hell’s the problem, gurl? She eventually said that she just doesn’t like the taste of beef and or pork. So she doesn’t like beef and pork. I guess she could eat a fish fillet sandwich then or a chicken burger which I think is the closest one to a proper hamburger she could ever get. But I feel sad for her– if she knew I just said that, she maybe all like, I’m the one feeling sorry for you ’cause yo the one who’s gonna die early, gurl! (Okay, all of this is turning me ghetto) I can’t blame the girl for not liking the taste of it and hamburgers may not be that good especially for the heart, but I will tell you this, having a glorious serving of a proper hamburger is good for the soul.

Hamburgers, through time, managed to evolve in a manner conforming to preferences of such hamburger fanatics. Some  add eggs to their burgers, perhaps in an attempt for a breakfast type of  hamburger.

Here we have the the fries in a burger, which I must say I should try in the future. (Hey, that rhymes!)

And for some who can’t decide between hamburger and pizza, the pizza burger. Add some fries and or milkshake, eat it often and subtract a couple of years from your existence.

For me, the original components of hamburger works best. As they say, there’s no place like home.

So what’s your type of hamburger?

Leave a Reply

