ajml

Grim Comes Without Prior Notice So Live Today

In Personal, Reflection on December 15, 2011 at 16:56

I found out kuya Petot passed away yesterday afternoon. Kuya Petot, just so you know, is one of the three tricycle drivers parked outside our compound. They were the three trike musketeers; Mark, Mario, and Petot. They have been there, the three of them for as long as I could remember.

It was my cousin who told  me about him. I was playing Tetris Battle when she came into my room and blurted the news out. I was in the middle of my game when she told me, “Ate, alam mo ba? Patay na si Petot” As I was into much concentration in a battle of my own, it took time for the news to sink in but when it finally did it pierced my heart and my eyes got a little watery. I didn’t actually cry but sadness definitely did creep up on me. Especially when I found out the reason for his misfortune.

Yesterday afternoon, it was raining pretty hard; it was a massive cloud piss! He took in a passenger and drove him off to San Juan De Dios Hospital. (I don’t know about you, but the hospital seemed more of a foreshadow) Since it was raining pretty hard, he decided to find shelter from the rain for a while, and found it somewhere near Harrison Plaza. He just leaned on some gate and got himself electrocuted really badly (must be open wires hanging loosely). Just imagine, he was just there to take a bit of a time off from work, his intentions so innocent and he got punished with death. One minute he was just resting, and the next his life was over.

I was never close to Petot. I smiled whenever I see him but I never really talked to him. I became his passenger once in a while but never really had the will to actually start a casual conversation with him. Yet my heart broke when the unfortunate news reached my ears.

I can’t help thinking about life after knowing. It made me think that any time, any minute, any second, in just a blink, we can be gone. We should all live our lives like it’s our last.  Enjoy yourself. Live. Laugh. Love. Do what makes you happy now. Do not wait for tomorrow or later.

Life is not lost by dying; life is lost minute by minute, day by dragging day, in all the thousand small uncaring ways.  ~Stephen Vincent Benét

May he rest in peace with the Lord Almighty. I know he is now in good hands.

Leave a Reply

