ajml

Dream Catcher

In Personal, Reflection on March 31, 2012 at 22:02

A dream catcher

A dream catcher is this piece of handcrafted strings arranged in a web-like manner inside a piece of willow hoop, and decorated with beads, feathers, and such. This piece of craft is believed and used by the Native Americans to ensnare good dreams and obstruct bad ones. But if that’s the case, I would say this is more of a dream filterer. Well, anyway, what really got me talking about this is because earlier today, I met one– yes, met one.

Okay, so I am taking an elective where crash courses such as culinary sessions, bar tending lessons, fine dining sittings, plant visits, etc. are included. Earlier today, we went to a culinary session, and there I got an encounter with the Dream Catcher. I call him the dream catcher because I see him really as a dream catcher– and not one of those like that image above, but a real dream catcher– a dream chaser.  I absolutely loved the way he talked about his dreams and the people around him; he’s a ball of positive vibes sounding so sure and so focused in the dream that he has. Then I realized why I feel the way I do– so lousy; having no intellectual or emotional or spiritual excitement at all. I am indecisive. I do not know what I want. The reason I feel out-of-place is because I am!

It was nice to meet someone so inspiring. Perhaps, this person would not seem so inspiring at all, but for a person like me feeling quite strayed, anything that would reflect even just a hint of gleaming, I’d take it as that. Thank you so much, Dream Catcher. You helped me realize again when I was about to lose sight of the things that really matter.

I can’t help but think about how significant each person we meet in our lives and the different kinds of impact they bring.

Leave a Reply

