ajml

Cold Stares, Warm Hugs

In Personal, Reflection on December 12, 2012 at 10:57

It’s funny how we think we know people. We get a slight encounter with them and then decide what they are. Or less well, we obtain secondhand information about the person and  thereon, we assess their very being.  Let us not deny that we are judgmental beings, people. At one point or another, we have wrongly adjudicated a person.

I am guilty of having done such, however, I shall get rid of such way. I am not perfect, neither are you– hell, no one is; I have my own set of flaws just as the rest of the world has its own. What gives us the right to be critical of others?– No. You know what? Even if we are free from all flaws, we hold no title to assess another one’s being. We’re all going through so much affecting the way we are now. We make mistakes; we come up with bad decisions, but in the end I truly believe that people do it for a greater cause. We are all made entirely of flaws, stitched together with good intentions. If not then, perhaps we’re simply lost at the moment and we just need someone– a friend to be there for us to help us through what we are going through at the present. I want to believe that inside every person lies even just a spark of kindness that is only waiting to be ignited into a blaze of unfeigned love.

Stop being judgmental. Start being compassionate. Try putting yourself in their shoes first.

What really got me into this matter is the recent discovery of what this certain person I know of has been going through. The untoward impression of this person shifted instantly into a feeling of compassion. I realized that I hold no right to feel adversely towards this person for I hold insufficient knowledge about this particular individual– just as the world knows no better about me than myself. It actually feels good to understand a person more, even in that little sense. Despite having done ill towards you, having a little more understanding about the person sets the animosity aside.

 The world is hurting deep inside; the least we can do is drop the cold stare, tender a warm hug.

Leave a Reply

